Department of Surgery

The Department of Surgery at Lurie Children’s, led by Thomas H. Inge, MD, PhD, provides surgical services that range from routine appendectomies, tonsillectomies, and fractures, to complex organ transplantations and surgeries for congenital heart defects. The Department is also the pediatric surgery training partner for Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine, and other local and regional hospitals, providing extraordinary resident and fellow training in each of its 10 divisions.

Lurie Children’s is the first children’s hospital in Illinois to be designated as a Level 1 children’s surgery center by the American College of Surgeons, a recognition only achieved by meeting the highest standards for training, staffing, quality improvement and care. Lurie Children’s is also a designated Level 1 Pediatric Trauma Center, meaning it is equipped to handle the most severely injured children. 

Our experienced team, comprised of approximately 80 surgeons in 10 sub-specialty divisions, is ready to serve your child’s every surgical need.

Leadership Team

Thomas H. Inge, MD, PhD

Surgeon-in-Chief and Chair

Daniel Skarzynski

Vice President

Holdemar Mangual

Operations Manager

Nicole Lantero

Operations Manager

Sid Chittajallu

Director, Business Operations and Analytics

Jamie Schechter

Senior Director Business Operations, Surgical Services

Courtney Jones

Director, Medical Education

Mehul V. Raval, MD, MS, FAAP, FACS

Vice Chair of Quality and Safety

Anthony C. Chin, MD, MS, MBA

Vice Chair of Finance

Jonathan B. Ida, MD, MBA, FACS, FAAP

Vice Chair of Procedural Services

James W. Schroeder Jr., MD, MBA, FACS, FAAP

Vice Chair of Medical Education

Dana Thompson, MD, MS, MBA, FACS

Vice Chair of Access and Ambulatory Services

Justin Ryder, PhD

Vice Chair of Research

Division Administration

David S. Winlaw, MBBS, MD, FRACS

Division Head, Cardiovascular-Thoracic Surgery

Benjamin Black

Executive Director, Heart Center

Aimen F. Shaaban, MD

Director, Chicago Institute for Fetal Health

Chen Cheng

Executive Director, Chicago Institute for Fetal Health

Ray J. Jurado, DDS

Division Head, Dentistry

Melissa Pena

Division Administrator, Dentistry

Sandi K. Lam, MD, MBA

Division Head, Neurosurgery

Madeline Sherman

Division Administrator, Neurosurgery

Brenda L. Bohnsack, MD, PhD

Division Head, Ophthalmology

Adrian Carson

Division Administrator, Ophthalmology

Dana M. Thompson, MD, MS, MBA, FACS

Division Head, Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery

Ryan Cyzman

Division Administrator, Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery

Erik C. King, MD, MS

Interim Division Head, Orthopedic Surgery

Poonam Jambhekar

Division Administrator, Orthopedic Surgery

Mehul V. Raval, MD, MS, FAAP, FACS

Vice Chair of Quality and Safety

Rachel Wankel

Division Administrator, Pediatric Surgery

Arun K. Gosain, MD

Division Head, Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Chrissy Green-Rogers

Practice Manager, Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Riccardo A. Superina, MD

Division Head, Transplant and Hepatobiliary Surgery

Johanna Mishra

Senior Director, Transplant and Hepatobiliary Surgery

Earl Y. Cheng, MD

Division Head, Urology; President, Lurie Children's Surgical Foundation

Brian Hayes

Division Administrator, Urology

For more information please contact Nicole Lantero,