Child Life Specialists



What Is a Child Life Specialist?

Lurie Children’s tries dilige​ntly to be sure that the hospital is not a scary environment for our patients and families. A child life specialist is a trained professional who helps children and their families understand and normalize the hospital environment. They are skilled at providing developmentally appropriate support, preparation and therapeutic play opportunities to decrease anxieties associated with being in the hospital. 

Lurie Children’s has child life specialists located at our main hospital and also at our outpatient satellite locations who are there to help your child understand their diagnosis or procedure in an age-appropriate way. They also help support siblings, guide families through bereavement and assist in legacy making. 

Becca Mitsos, Child Life Specialist for Lurie Children's Surgical Services, shares how child life specialists play a critical role as part of a child's healthcare team.

 

 

Our Services



As members of your child's healthcare team, child life specialists partner with families to tailor interventions to best meet each child’s individual needs. They provide:

  • Preparation before surgery, exams and other potentially anxiety-provoking experiences by using developmentally appropriate language, books and other teaching materials to reduce stress and increase understanding.
  • Medical play by using specially adapted dolls, as well as real and pretend medical equipment, to enhance understanding and clarify misconceptions.
  • Help to manage pain and encourage relaxation by offering various techniques such as comfort positioning, guided imagery and deep breathing exercises.
  • Procedural support by modeling positive coping strategies using developmentally appropriate items such as bubbles, viewmasters and books.
  • Developmental play opportunities to promote continued development through age-appropriate activities at the bedside, in play groups and in outpatient waiting areas. View our resources below:
  • Sibling support to help siblings understand what is happening, help them work through their feelings and answer their questions about the hospital experience.
  • Bereavement support by providing support and resources for grief and bereavement issues.
  • Support for children with special needs by individualizing care and adapting the environment for specialized learning and coping. This support occurs with collaboration with our Lekotek program. Please feel free to fill out the survey below prior to your appointment or admission and bring it with you to better inform our staff about your child’s special needs. Patient and Family Coping Questionnaire

Request a Child Life Specialist



To request a child life specialist, call 312.227.3270 or from inside the hospital, ask a member of your medical team to page a child life specialist. We are available seven days a week, 365 days a year.  

Please fill out the caregiver survey prior to your appointment or visit to help us better understand your child’s individual needs. Download the Patient and Family Coping Questionnaire.

Child Life Internship



If you’re interested in becoming a child life specialist, apply for one of our internships or practiums, and read through the frequently asked questions.

Resources



Learn more about the role of child life specialists by visiting the National Child Life Council.

For a list of books, movies and apps that may be helpful for children in the hospital, reference our Resource List.

View our Resource List

Meet Our Child Life Specialists



Our child life specialists all work in different areas with different units, so their day-to-day tasks can vary greatly. Take a look at their information below to learn which child life specialist might be working with your child.

Rebecca Meyers MS, CCLS | 312.227.3267rmeyers@luriechildrens.org 
Available Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. — Child Life Manager

Amanda Anderson MS, CCLS | 312.227.2932asanderson@luriechildrens.org
Available Monday, Wednesday and Friday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. — Protective Services Team/Safety and Well-Being Clinic (Main Hospital)

Brooke Baffa, MS, CCLS, CTRS | 312.227.3253 | bbaffa@luriechildrens.org 
Coverage 7 days a week — Emergency Department (Main Hospital)

Lura Carstensen, CCLS | 312.227.3294lcarstensen@luriechildrens.org
Available Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. — Hematology/Oncology Outpatient Clinic and hematology inpatients (Main Hospital)

Kerri Crawford, M. Ed., CCLS  | 312.227.5095 | kcrawford@luriechildrens.org 
Available Tuesday through Saturday, 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. — Intermediate Care Unit (Main Hospital)

Lori A. Esch, MS, CCLS | 312.227.7925lesch@luriechildrens.org
Available Monday through Friday, 6 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. — Outpatient Center in Westchester

Libby Hobbs, CCLS | 312.227.1254mhobbs@luriechildrens.org
Available Tuesday and Thursday, 9:30 a.m. - 6 p.m. — Child & Adolescent Psychiatry-Trauma Treatment Services (Main Hospital and Outpatient Center in Lincoln Park)

Geanine Hunt, M.Ed., CCLS | 312.227.2730ghunt@luriechildrens.org
Available Monday through Friday, 7 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. — Northbrook Surgical Center

Becca Mitsos, CCLS | 312.227.3273rmitsos@luriechildrens.org
Available Monday through Friday, 6:30 a.m. - 3 p.m. — Surgical Services (Main Hospital)

Emily Mulvaney, CCLS | 312.227.3338 | emulvaney@luriechildrens.org 
Available Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. — 19th Floor Inpatients, Clinical Research Unit, Epilepsy Monitoring Unit (Main Hospital) 

Megan O'Connell, MS, CCLS | 312.227.3334mroconnell@luriechildrens.org
Available Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. — Pediatric Intensive Care (Main Hospital)

Jennifer Puntillo, BS, CCLS | 312.227.6397 | jpuntillo@luriechildrens.org 
Available Friday, 6:30 a.m. - 3 p.m. — Clark/Deming Outpatient Clinics (Outpatient Center in Lincoln Park)

Emily Rogers, MS, CCLS312.227.3274erogers@luriechildrens.org
Available Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. — Outpatient Medical Imaging (Main Hospital)

Beth K. Ryan, M.Ed., CCLS | 312.227.6398bkryan@luriechildrens.org
Available Monday through Wednesday, 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. — Clark/Deming Outpatient Clinics, Lekotek Leader (Outpatient Center in Lincoln Park)

Lauren Schuler, CCLS | 312.227.6286lschuler@luriechildrens.org
Available Mondays, Thursdays and Fridays, 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. — Special Infectious Diseases Clinic (Outpatient Center in Lincoln Park)

Brittany Smith, CCLS | 312.227.3347basmith@luriechildrens.org
Available Monday and Wednesday, 11 a.m. - 7:30 p.m. — Surgery, Transplant, ENT, Nephrology, Urology, Hepatology, GI (Main Hospital)

Sara Stewart | 312.227.3287sstewart@luriechildrens.org
Available Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m.- 5 p.m. — Inpatient Oncology (Main Hospital)

Lauren Thompson, CCLS | 312.227.3942lathompson@luriechildrens.org
Available Sunday through Thursday, 8:30 p.m. - 5 p.m. - Cardiac Care Unit (Main Hospital)

Joe Weismantel, CCLS, Playmaker | 312.227.3363jweismantel@luriechildrens.org
Available Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. — Pulmonary and Cystic Fibrosis (Main Hospital)

Meghan Worrell, MS, CCLS | 312.227.0218mworrell@luriechildrens.org
Coverage 7 days a week — Emergency Department (Main Hospital)

Katelyn Zilles, CCLS | 312.227.3266 | kzilles@luriechildrens.org 
Available Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. — Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (Main Hospital)