⚠ COVID-19 INFORMATION: Vaccine Information, Other Resources 

ABA Elects New Board Officers – Dr. Santhanam Suresh Named Board President

October 23, 2020


Raleigh, N.C. (October 19, 2020) – The American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) announces the elections of Santhanam Suresh, MD, MBA, as Board president and Thomas M. McLoughlin, Jr., MD, as treasurer. Both directors officially began their roles this week, following the fall 2020 Board meeting.

Dr. Suresh is the Arthur C. King Professor and chair of the Department of Pediatric Anesthesiology at the Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago (formerly Children’s Memorial Hospital). He is Professor of Pediatrics and Anesthesiology at Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine. He previously served as vice chair and Director of Research for the Department of Pediatric Anesthesiology at Lurie’s Children’s Hospital and as chair of its Pain Practices Committee.

Dr. Suresh also has a leadership role with SmartTots, a public private partnership of the US Food and Drug Administration and the International Anesthesia Research Society (IARS), serving as co-chair of the SmartTots Steering Committee. He is on the Board of Trustees for IARS, is vice chair of the Executive Annual Meeting Oversight Committee for the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) and is a member of the Anesthesiology Review Committee of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).

In addition to his role as Board president, Dr. Suresh serves on the ABA’s Assessments and Research Committees. He holds ABA certification in anesthesiology (1993), pain medicine (1998) and pediatric anesthesiology (2013) and participates in MOCA 2.0®.

Dr. McLoughlin is chair of the Department of Anesthesiology for Lehigh Valley Health Network and a professor of surgery in the Division of Surgical Anesthesiology at the University of South Florida College of Medicine. His clinical practice emphasizes cardiothoracic anesthesiology, and he is a diplomate of the National Board of Echocardiography in advanced perioperative transesophageal echocardiography. He also serves as a director and treasurer-elect of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education.

Dr. McLoughlin serves on the ABA’s Social, Technological, Economic, Environmental, and Political Factors (STEEP) Advisory, Assessments and Nonstandard Examinations Committees. He holds ABA certification in anesthesiology (1993) and participates in MOCA 2.0®.

The Board reelected Andrew J. Patterson, M.D., PhD., as vice president and David O. Warner, M.D., as secretary.

About the American Board of Anesthesiology

The mission of the American Board of Anesthesiology® (ABA) is to advance the highest standards of the practice of anesthesiology. As the certifying body for anesthesiologists since 1938, the ABA is committed to partnering with physicians to advance lifelong learning and exceptional patient care. The Board administers initial and subspecialty certification exams as well as the Maintenance of Certification in Anesthesiology Program® (MOCA®), which is designed to promote lifelong learning, a commitment to quality clinical outcomes and patient safety. Based in Raleigh, N.C., the ABA is a nonprofit organization and a Member Board of the American Board of Medical Subspecialties (ABMS).

ABA Media Contact:

Michelle Taylor

(919) 745-2281