Supporting our researchers

The Manne Research Institute is happy to announce the Spring 2017 Internal Grant Award (IGA) recipients. The IGA program is providing over $300,000 in awards during this cycle so that researchers will have the resources to develop projects that will lead to highly competitive extramural applications for sustained research support. Five types of awards were granted:

Proposal Revision Award to support the preparation of a revision and re-submission of a federal grant:

  • Isabelle De Plaen in Neonatology for the Role of the Intestinal Microvasculature in Necrotizing Enterocolitis
  • Xiao-di Tan, Dorothy M. and Edward E. Burwell Professorship in Immunobiology, in Gastroenterology for the Role of PMP22 in Preservation of Intestinal Barrier Function
  • Jacek Topczewski, Crown Family Research Scholar in Developmental Systems Biology, in Developmental Biology for the Role of Cholesterol Biosynthesis in Skeletogenesis

Visionary Award to support potentially paradigm-shifting research:

  • Jennifer Schneiderman in Hematology/Oncology for Safety and Efficacy of ECP Treated Donor Cells in Prevention of Allograft Rejection and Xenogenic GVHD
  • Mary Clyde Pierce in Emergency Medicine for Epigenetics and Child Abuse: A Pilot Study
  • William Tse in Hematology/Oncology for Immune Checkpoint-Expressing T Cells as a Biomarker for AML Diagnosis and Therapy

Program Accelerator Award to support planning and development of program project-related applications:

  • Hara Levy in Pulmonology for Molecular Dissection of Clinical Phenotypes Within and Across Boundaries in Cystic Fibrosis and Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease

Interdisciplinary Colloquia Award to promote the development of working groups around novel multidisciplinary areas of research relevant to children’s health:

  • Naomi Fogel in Endocrinology for a Diabetes Center of Excellence Workshop 
  • Anna Fishbein in Allergy & Immunology, and Amy Paller, Walter J. Hamlin Professor and Chair of Dermatology, in Dermatology for CREATE (Consortium for Research and Education on ATopic Eczema)

Scientific Advocacy Award to support society fees and travel to meetings where the awardee will be engaging in advocacy on behalf of children’s health research:

  • Jami Josefson and Wendy Brickman in Endocrinology for Childhood Obesity Prevention

Media Relations Contacts

Public Affairs & Communications

Call: 312.227.4600

Main Hospital Campus

225 E. Chicago Avenue
Chicago, IL 60611