12th annual Research Scholar Day

The 12th annual Research Scholar Day was held on May 11, 2016. The event included 90 posters presented by residents, fellows, graduate students, postdocs and research staff. The high quality of the work and the incredible team effort provided by mentors and colleagues were impressive. 

At left: Award winner Angela Santin, MS

Keynote speaker Neil C. Chi, MD, PhD, presented “A change of heart: Cellular and genetic dissection of cardiovascular development and regeneration.” He started his presentation with a description of his career trajectory, beginning with graduate school training in the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP) at Northwestern University. Chi currently serves as Director of the Cardiovascular Genetics Clinic and Cardiac Tissue Harvest and Biorepository Core at the University of California, San Diego.

Best poster awards were presented to:

  • Resident Research Award: Regulatory T cell immunophenotype is influenced by food allergy status | Ashley Devonshire, MD, MPH | Pediatrics Residency Program | Mentor: Anne Marie Singh, MD
  • First Year Fellow Basic Research Award: Reducing the inflammatory milieu in a rat model of substitution urethroplasty with bone marrow stem cell populations | Joceline Liu, MD | Urology | Mentor: Arun Sharma, PhD
  • First Year Fellow Clinical Research Award: Characteristics and outcomes of children referred for dyslipidemia management at a preventive cardiology clinic | Kavitha Selvaraj, MD | Academic General Pediatrics | Mentor: Helen Binns, MD, MPH
  • Second Year Fellow Basic Research Award: Dual targeting of PI3K and mTOR signaling in medulloblastoma | Jessica Clymer, MD | Hematology/Oncology | Mentor: Leonidas Platanias, MD, PhD
  • Second Year Fellow Clinical Research Award: Medical morbidity after the Fontan operation: Long-term follow-up at a single center | Kiona Allen, MD | Cardiac Critical Care | Mentor: Bradley Marino, MD, MPP, MSCE
  • Third Year Fellow Basic Research Award: Hypoxia inducible factor 1-α stabilization increases endothelial cell proliferation in the intestinal villi in a mouse model of necrotizing enterocolitis (NEC) | Rakhee Bowker, MD | Neonatology | Mentor: Isabelle DePlaen, MD
  • Third Year Fellow Clinical Research Award: Pilot study: Relationship between growth mediators and health related quality of life in children with inflammatory bowel disease | Chantal Lucia Casadonte, MD | Gastroenterology/Hepatology | Mentor: Estella Alonso, MD
  • Graduate Student Research Award: miR-1343 attenuates phenotypes of fibrosis by repressing TGF-β signaling | Lindsay Stolzenburg, BS | Human Molecular Genetics Program | Mentor: Ann Harris, PhD
  • Research Tech Award: Characterization of smarcb1a and smarcb1b mutations in a developing zebrafish model of malignant rhabdoid tumors | Angela Santin, MS | Pediatric Neurosurgery | Mentor: Simone Sredni, MD, PhD
  • Postdoc Research Award: H19 long non-coding RNA contributes to promoting IGF1R expression and intestinal epithelial cell restitution following inflammatory injury | Hua Geng, PhD | Clinical & Translational Research Program | Mentor: Xiao-Di Tan, MD
  • Judges’ Award: Patient reported outcomes, adherence to hydroxyurea and technology-based adherence enhancing intervention (HU-Go app) in adolescents and young adults with sickle cell disease | Sherif Badawy, MD | Hematology/Oncology | Mentors: Robert Liem, MD, MS; Alexis Thompson, MD, MPH​

Research conducted in Harris, Tan and Thompson laboratories is supported through their respective endowed positions as the Valerie and George D. Kennedy Research Professor in Human Molecular Genetics, Dorothy M. and Edward E. Burwell Professor in Immunobiology and A. Watson and Sarah Armour Professor in Childhood Cancer and Blood Diseases.​

Media Relations Contacts

Public Affairs & Communications

Call: 312.227.4600
E-mail: jpesch@luriechildrens.org

Main Hospital Campus

225 E. Chicago Avenue
Chicago, IL 60611